The 24 Hours of le Mans 2019: Toyota, provisional pole and the accident [Video]

Provisional Pole for the Toyota TS050 Hybrid no.7 at the Circuit de la Sarthe: Kamui Kobayashi has had the best time in the first qualifying session of the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2019. 3’17″161 is slightly caught by the japanese. The TS050 Hybrid no.7, however, it was subsequently a protagonist of an accident: while Mike Conway was driving the prototype of the nissan, was found in front suddenly, the ORECA-GIbson 07 LMP2 to Roberto Gonzales, who was regaining the track after a spin at the chicane Ford.

Conway proceeded too quickly to avoid the contact with the prototype of Gonzales, and the uk is finished with his TS050 Hybrid over the nose of the LMP2, finishing to take off. Fortunately both riders were unscathed by the accident, but the track remained much debris. On the second place in the standings, we do not find the other car home Toyota, but a LMP1 private, no.17 of the SMP Racing, thanks to a time of Egor Oruzdhev. Third position for the Rebellion R-One driven by Thomas Laurent.

Fernando Alonso, at the wheel of the TS050 Hybrid no.8, had to settle for the fourth fastest time overall, risking a long to the Mulsanne. In the LMP2 class, provisional pole for the ORECA no.31 of Dragon Speed, using the fastest time taken by Pastor Maldonado; the incident which he has seen subsequently involved his co-team member Gonzales, however, it could affect the qualifying result, considering that the contact will be assessed by the commissioners of the race.

In the class LMGTE Pro, the best time for the Ford GT no. 67 thanks to a best time of Harry Tincknell; the british preceded, by just 28 thousandths Nick Tandy, in action on the Porsche 911 RSR no.93. Third position for Aston Martin with the Vantage GTE no.97 entrusted to Alex Lynn. Provisional Pole for our Matteo Cairoli in LMGTE Am, the Porsche 911 RSR no.77 prepared by the Dempsey Proton Racing team. This evening at 22 there will be the second qualifying session, at the end of which will establish the starting grid of the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2019.